High School Sports Rally

Eden Prairie F Kyle Rau Named 2011 Mr. Hockey

View Comments
(credit: Jupiter Images)

(credit: Jupiter Images)

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) – Eden Prairie forward Kyle Rau has been named Mr. Hockey for 2011, an annual award for Minnesota’s outstanding prep boys’ hockey player.

The Mr. Hockey Award is presented by the Minnesota Minute Men and decided by a panel of judges, including NHL scouts, Division I coaches and selected media members from around the state.

In other awards announced Sunday, Alex Lyon from Lake of the Woods received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of the state’s top senior goaltender. Mark DeCenzo of Hibbing, Bruce Plante of Hermantown and Tim Sager of White Bear Lake received the John Mariucci awards, given to the high school coaches of the year.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,393 other followers