Dayton Declares State Of Emergency For 16 Counties

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — Gov. Mark Dayton has declared a state of emergency in 16 counties because of extensive damage from the July 1 storms.

The storm system spawned supercell thunderstorms and tornadoes as it moved from southwestern Minnesota northeast across the state and into Wisconsin and Upper Michigan.

Under Dayton’s order, dated Saturday, state agencies are directed to provide necessary help to local units of government, and to determine the need for supplementary disaster aid. It also allows insurance adjusters licensed in other states to serve Minnesota policy-holders.

The counties covered by his order are: Anoka, Brown, Isanti, Kanabec, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Pine, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Scott, Stearns, Wright, and Yellow Medicine.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


More From WCCO | CBS Minnesota

Goin' To The Lake
The Leaderboard

Listen Live