WCCO’s Frank Vascellaro Wins Regional Emmy

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO/AP) — WCCO-TV anchor Frank Vascellaro won the News Anchor Emmy Saturday at the 2011 Upper Midwest Emmy Awards in Minneapolis.

The Weather Anchor Emmy went to WCCO’s Mike Augustyniak, who also won an Emmy for his coverage of the December Blizzard.

WCCO’s Lindsey Seavert won an Emmy for best news writing. She also won an Emmy for her “Pink Balloon” story.

WCCO’s Liz Collin won an Emmy for health reporting in the story “Diagnosis.”

WCCO’s Grannies, who cover entertainment award shows, won an Emmy in the entertainment category. You can watch them receive their trophy the video below.

WCCO’s Grannies Win An Emmy

WCCO also won Emmies for business reporting and the “Always” promotion campaign.

Station Excellence went to KMSP-TV, which won 14 Emmys with sister station WFTC-TV.

KARE-TV won the most awards — 23 — at the Saturday night gala. KARE reporter Boyd Huppert picked up nine Emmys, including general assignment reporter.

Retired WDIO-TV anchor Dennis Anderson was inducted into the Gold Circle for 50 years service. Dave Jensch of KBJR-TV in Duluth, Ron Schara of Ron Schara Productions and Ron Steele of KWWL-TV in Waterloo, Iowa, were inducted into the Silver Circe, for 25 years service.

The Upper Midwest Emmys cover Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota and western Wisconsin.

(TM and © Copyright 2011 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2011 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)


More From WCCO | CBS Minnesota

Goin' To The Lake
The Leaderboard

Listen Live