WCCO EYE4 LOGO WCCO Radio wcco-eye-green01, ww color green
Severe T-Storm Warning: Brown, Carver, Hennepin, McLeod Nicollet, Redwood, RenvilleScott, Sibley, Wright Counties | Radar | Latest Forecast


4 MN Mayors Sign Marriage Equality Statement

View Comments

(credit: Justin Sullivan/Getty Images)

Get Breaking News First

Receive News, Politics, and Entertainment Headlines Each Morning.
Sign Up
Today's Most Popular Video
  1. Tornado Touches Down In Northwestern Minn.
  2. HSSR: Sept. 19, 2014 - Coach Of The Week – Bill Weiss
  3. HSSR: Sept. 19, 2014 - Tyrone Carter's 1-On-1 Coaching
  4. An Alligator On The Loose In Minnesota?
  5. Mike's Mix: The Big Easy

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – Four mayors from Minnesota cities have signed a statement aligning themselves with a coalition fighting for marriage equality.

On Friday, the chairs for the bipartisan group Mayors for the Freedom to Marry announced they had the support of more than 75 mayors across the country.

Among those included were Minneapolis mayor R.T. Rybak, St. Paul mayor Chris Coleman, Duluth mayor Don Ness and Rochester mayor Ardell Brede.

The group announced their goal: “Securing the freedom to marry and upholding equal rights for all citizens.”

One of the groups chairs is San Diego mayor Jerry Sanders (R), who said, “Allowing loving and committed couples to join in marriage has benefits not just for couples and their families—but also for society. Marriage encourages people to take responsibility for each other, provides greater security for children, and helps our country live up to its promises set forth in our founding documents.”

Currently, there are a number of cities in Minnesota that recognize same-sex domestic partnerships, including all four of those whose mayors have signed Freedom to Marry’s announcement.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,866 other followers