WCCO EYE4 LOGO WCCO Radio wcco-eye-red01, ww color red

Latest News

4 DFLers Face Off In Primary For Open House Seat

View Comments
Minnesota State Capitol, St. Paul, st paul, generic, government

(credit: Mark Erickson/Getty Images)

Get Breaking News First

Receive News, Politics, and Entertainment Headlines Each Morning.
Sign Up
Today's Most Popular Video
  1. DeRusha Eats: Brake Bread
  2. Husband And Wife Die 15 Hours Apart
  3. Polk County Sheriff's Deputy Laid To Rest
  4. Como Zoo Animals Visit WCCO
  5. Troops Homecoming Sweetened By Local Girl Scouts

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — There will be a special primary election at the end of January for four Democrats vying to fill an open southern Minnesota state House seat.

Secretary of State Mark Ritchie says Thursday that the election will be held Jan. 29. They are running to fill a seat vacated by former DFL Rep. Terry Morrow of St. Peter.

The primary candidates are teacher and union activist Robin Courrier, Minnesota State professor Clark Johnson, North Mankato farmer Karl Johnson and St. Peter Mayor Tim Strand. The winner will face Republican Allen Quist and the Independence Party’s Tim Gieseke in a Feb. 12 special election.

The district’s DFLers are meeting Saturday to endorse one of the candidates.

There will be no special primary election for another open House seat in St. Cloud, because only one candidate from each major party has filed to run.

(© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus