WCCO EYE4 LOGO WCCO Radio wcco-eye-green01, ww color green


Gopher Hockey Team Hands Out Awards

View Comments
Gopher Hockey Coach Don Lucia (credit: Univeristy Of Minnesota)

Gopher Hockey Coach Don Lucia (credit: Univeristy Of Minnesota)

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up
Today's Most Popular Video
  1. Why Is Edward Moody Wearing A Headband?
  2. 4 Things To Know For July 24, 2014
  3. Chris Pratt Proves French Braid Cred During Interview
  4. WCCO Viewers’ Choice For MN’s Best Drive-In
  5. The Lowdown: Moto-i To Appear On Cooking Channel Tonight

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – The season has been over since early March, but the University of Minnesota men’s hockey team handed out awards Tuesday night at the team’s banquet at TCF Bank Stadium.

The Gophers tied for the WCHA regular season title before losing to Colorado College in the WCHA Final Five at Xcel Energy Center. Minnesota earned a trip to the NCAA Tournament, where the Gophers lost to Yale in the Regional Semifinals.

Several players, including Nate Schmidt, Nick Bjugstad and Zach Budish, left the university after the season to pursue NHL contracts.

Schmidt earned team MVP honors for the season after finishing third among defensemen with 32 points. He was also an all-WCHA first team selection. Budish earned the team’s Leadership and Sportmanship Award after recording a career-high 36 points and scoring 14 goals after being named a captain.

Kyle Rau earned the Most Determined Player Award after recording 40 points (15 goals, 24 assists) last season. Rau had seven game-winning goals on the season. Nate Condon also earned the Outstanding Student-Athlete Award with 31 points, including 12 goals, on the season.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus