WCCO EYE4 LOGO WCCO Radio wcco-eye-green01, ww color green


DNR: Burn Restrictions Lifted In 18 Minnesota Counties

View Comments

Get Breaking News First

Receive News, Politics, and Entertainment Headlines Each Morning.
Sign Up
Today's Most Popular Video
  1. High School Football Highlights: Aug. 29, 2014
  2. Good Questions: Minnesota State Fair Edition
  3. Mayor Calls For Review Of St. Paul Skyway Arrest
  4. How To Prep Your Yard For Fall
  5. Former Wis. Deputy Charged In Double Homicide

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources announced Monday that burn restrictions in 18 central Minnesota counties were lifted last Friday.

DNR officials said that although the restrictions were lifted, residents in those counties could have more specific regulations or restrictions, so they should check with local authorities to get permits before burning. The counties that had the restriction lifted include: Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Dakota, Douglas, Isanti, Hennepin, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Sherburne, Stearns Todd, Washington and Wright.

The DNR said the restrictions were lifted due to a decrease in fire danger because of recent wet conditions and the green-up moving north in Minnesota. Restrictions remain in effect in as many as 20 other Minnesota counties, mostly in far northern and northwestern Minnesota.

If you plan on doing any burning, authorities said to be sure to keep your piles small, have a water supply nearby and stay around the fire until it is completely out.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,817 other followers