WNBA Admits Officials Missed Call Against Lynx In Game 4

NEW YORK (AP) — The WNBA admitted its officials missed an 8-second violation call in Game 4 of the Finals on Sunday night.

The league released a statement Monday saying that a call should have been made in the game that evened the best-of-5 series 2-2.

Minnesota led 79-77 and had the ball with 26.1 seconds left after a turnover. The Lynx didn’t get the ball into the front court in the required eight seconds.

“After reviewing postgame video, we have determined that with 0:17.7 remaining in regulation time, Minnesota released the ball for a pass from the backcourt and the ball was still in the backcourt when the shot clock turned to 0:16,” the statement said. “An 8-second violation should have been called on Minnesota. This play is not a trigger to review via instant replay.”

After the ball made it to the front court, Rebekkah Brunson was fouled by Candace Parker and hit both free throws to give the Lynx a four-point lead with 12.5 seconds left. The Lynx went on to win the game 85-79 and force a decisive Game 5 on Thursday night.

Los Angeles guard Kristi Toliver knew after the game that the officials missed that call.

“Absolutely not,” she said when asked if Minnesota had gotten the ball over in time. “I think they forgot they had to get the ball over the line. But that’s life. We can’t leave it up to the officials to determine a series. We have to go take it, and that’s what we plan on doing in Game 5.”

Los Angeles coach Brian Agler told The Associated Press in a phone interview Monday night that while he was happy the league reviewed the play, he didn’t want to dwell on it.

“Champions don’t make excuses. We had our opportunities,” he said.

It was the second consecutive year that Minnesota was involved in a blown call late in a playoff game.

Last year in the Western Conference finals, the Lynx benefited from a foul with 1.5 seconds left in a tie game against Phoenix.

The Mercury’s Noelle Quinn directed her inbounds pass to 6-foot-8 center Brittney Griner. Maya Moore deflected that pass, gained control of the ball, began going upcourt, and official Amy Bonner blew the whistle with 1.5 seconds left in Game 2.

Moore hit one of two free throws to lift the Lynx to the victory ending the series.

The WNBA admitted last year that a foul should not have been called.

(© Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


One Comment

  1. BeeGee says:

    Did they admit to missing the foul call on Whalen seconds before?

  2. Susan says:

    The Referees have missed many fouls against both teams in the finals and have also called many BAD calls, they should be reviewing every game, and learning from there mistakes. What I do not like about this article there are many bad calls, and I understand not everyone is perfect yet way to many bad calls, and many that are not talked about that were also made against MN Lynx.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From WCCO | CBS Minnesota

Good Question

Listen Live