MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — Minnesota democrats re-elected Ken Martin as party chair in a vote in Hinckley Saturday, according to Sen. Amy Klobuchar.

Martin will serve a fourth term as DFL party chair. He was challenged by former party associate chairwoman Donna Cassutt.

Martin’s re-election comes after a damaging 2016 election for democrats.

In November, Hillary Clinton won Minnesota by a narrow victory. She beat Donald Trump by less than 43,000 votes.

Compared to other states, neither Clinton nor Trump paid a lot of attention to Minnesota during the campaign season.

The last time Minnesota voted for a Republican president was Richard Nixon in 1972.

Many democrats blame Clinton and the Democratic National Committee for failing to understand the depth of frustration among working class voters.


  1. I guess the democrat party hasn’t tired of losing seats in rural minnesota.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE