According to the Federal Highway Administration, the average Minnesota driver pays $125 per year to register his or her car. But some of us pay much more, and some of us pay much less. So, when Joel Tracy of St. Paul found out his daughter paid almost $400 her new minivan’s tags, he was surprised. He had only paid $41 for his 2002 Tahoe. “I thought she stuttered,” Tracy said. According to Bruce Gordon, the director of communications for the Department of Public Safety, the car tabs fees are set by the state legislature.
Vehicle owners in Minnesota’s two largest counties will soon pay more to register their cars and trucks. On Tuesday, commissioners in both Hennepin and Ramsey counties approved an inaugural $10 wheelage tax per vehicle.
Lines for licenses are growing and waits are getting longer at Hennepin County Government centers as residents prepare for a state government shutdown.