MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — The University of Minnesota Board of Regents are welcoming three new members and one re-elected incumbent.

The chief justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Lorie Gildea, on Thursday swore in incumbent David Larson and new regents Steve Sviggum, David McMillan and Laura Brod.

READ MORE: Brooklyn Park Joins Growing List Of Minnesota Cities Requiring Masks In City Buildings

Sviggum and Brod are former Republican lawmakers. Sviggum is a former speaker of the House while Brod represented New Prague.

READ MORE: Wastewater Testing Reveals Scale Of St. Paul's COVID Spread

McMillan is from Duluth and is a senior vice president of the energy company Allete. He’s also the former chairman of the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce.

In selecting the new regents, the Republican-controlled Legislature rejected incumbent Regent Steven Hunter, secretary-treasurer of the AFL-CIO labor union.

MORE NEWS: 'I'm Scared For My Patients': As COVID Cases Surge, Delta Plus Variant Worries Medical Experts

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)