MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — The federal government has officially designated Anoka and Hennepin counties as disaster areas after they were hit by a tornado on May 22.

The state Department of Public Safety reports Tuesday that preliminary assessments put the damage at $16.3 million.

READ MORE: Sign Bearing George Floyd's Name Unveiled At 38th And Chicago

The declaration will send money to state and local governments — and some non-profit organizations — for repairs to facilities damaged by the storm.

READ MORE: 'It's Bizarre': Southern Minnesota Ghost Town Still Attracting Summer Visitors

Public entities are also now eligible for money to repair roads, bridges and parks that were damaged by the storm.

Gov. Mark Dayton has made a request for disaster assistance for individuals. That is still pending.

MORE NEWS: Sign Bearing George Floyd's Name Unveiled At 38th And Chicago: 'This Is Just Another Step Forward'

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)