MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — The latest edition of the wildly popular Cities 97 Sampler has sold out in a matter of hours after going on sale early Thursday morning.

The CD, now in its 23rd volume, was made available at are Target stores. Only 33,000 were available, so they were definitely a hot commodity. Every year, people line up to get their hands on a copy.

The disc, which retailed for $25.97 was completely sold out as of 11:15 a.m. Cities 97 said that was about an hour earlier than last year’s sellout time, and just over three hours after they were made available in most locations. (The downtown Minneapolis location opened at 7 a.m. and was sold out within an hour.)

One Heartland is one of the charities that benefit from sales of the disc. The non-profit puts on camps every year for kids and teens affected by HIV, diabetes and homelessness.

Patrick Kindler, the executive director for One Heartland, says it’s a chance for the kids to be with other kids who understand their situation.

Health and education classes are also part of the experience.

The camp is free for all the children thanks in part to donations from the Cities Sampler.

“They’ve been one of our largest supporters. Over 2,000 campers have been sent to camp because of Cities, so if you take that over the years, four whole summers have been paid for,” said Kindler.

Here is the full tracklist from the disc:

01. Adele – “Someone Like You”
02. Amos Lee – “Windows Are Rolled Down”
03. Matt Nathanson – “Faster”
04. The Head & The Heart – “Lost In My Mind”
05. Sara Bareilles – “Uncharted”
06. Fitz & The Tantrums – “We Don’t Gotta Work It Out”
07. Ray LaMontagne & The Pariah Dogs – “For The Summer”
08. Lissie – “When I’m Alone”
09. Mat Kearney – “Hey Mama”
10. Neon Trees – “Animal”
11. Scars On 45 – “Heart On Fire”
12. O.A.R. – “Heaven”
13. David Gray – “Only The Wine”
14. Farewell Milwaukee – “Always Be Your Man”
15. Mumford & Sons – “The Cave”
16. Ellie Goulding – “Lights”
17. The Civil Wars – “Poison & Wine”
18. Florence + The Machine – “Dog Days Are Over”
19. Michael Franti & Spearhead – “Say Hey (I Love You)”

Comments (3)
  1. Phil Usher says:

    If you didn’t get your copy, don’t worry. Tomorrow it’ll be on BitTorrent, in lossless FLAC.

  2. Jon Woll says:

    Nice to see the Occupy movement take a break for once. LOL

  3. A Voter says:

    Why aren’t these people being arrested, like the occupy people, for health, and sanitary protection?