MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — This frustrating season is over for the Gophers, without an opportunity to defend their National Invitation Tournament title.

The 32-team NIT field filled out on Sunday night did not include Minnesota, which finished 18-15. The Big Ten sent seven teams to the NCAA Tournament, but only Illinois was included in the NIT.

This was the third time in the last nine years the Gophers didn’t make either the NCAA or NIT tournament. They were left out in 2007 and 2011, too.

The Gophers lost six of their last eight games this season to fall out of consideration, ending the college careers for seniors Andre Hollins, DeAndre Mathieu, Mo Walker, Elliott Eliason and Kendall Shell.

(© Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)