MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — The Minnesota State High School League board of directors voted Monday to approve one-year suspensions for the head coaches of four schools involved in a protest at last February’s dance team awards ceremony.

Faribault won the Class AAA title, but after all the other competing teams were disqualified for not lining up properly for the awards ceremony. The teams were protesting the Faribault Emeralds and later accused the Emeralds of stealing a routine from a squad in Utah.

READ MORE: Minnesota Weather: 1 Dead, NWS Confirms 3 Tornadoes Touched Down Across MN

Fairbault coach Lois Kricke has denied plagiarizing the routine all along.

The teams that protested included Eden Prairie, Chaska, Eastview, Lakeville South and Wayzata. The league went beyond discipline imposed by the school districts involved.

Prior to the MSHSL decision, WCCO reported the entire Eden Prairie coaching staff would not be back next season.

READ MORE: 4-Year-Old Natalia Ashes Dies In Mankato After Tree Branch Falls On Tent During Overnight Storms

The MSHSL board decided that those coaches involved would also have to complete “Why We Play” training before being reinstated.

Eastview coach Jenny Raiche received a letter of deficiency and would be suspended for the first two meets of next season. Lakeville South said written reprimands were given to all employees involved in the incident.

MORE NEWS: Friends, Family Gather To Celebrate The Life Of Former WCCO'er Denise Rosen

As for the students, the board decided that individuals from the second- and third-place teams would receive medals. They were not awarded at the ceremony in February.