EDINA, Minn. (AP) — The 2016 WCHA women’s playoffs get under way this weekend with four first-round series.

Top-seeded Wisconsin hosts Minnesota State, Mankato; Ohio State is at second seed Minnesota; Minnesota Duluth travels to third seed Bemidji State; and St. Cloud State plays at fourth seed North Dakota.

The four series open Friday. All four series are best-of-three.

Wisconsin won its fifth WCHA regular-season championship in program history. Bemidji State is hosting a postseason series for the first time.

The four winning teams advance to the 2016 WCHA Final Face-Off, to be held March 5-6 at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis.

(© Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.