ST. PAUL, Minn. (WCCO) — State Rep. Melissa Hortman was elected Speaker of the House-designate by the Minnesota House DFL at its organizational caucus Thursday.

Representative-elect Ryan Winkler was selected to be the House Majority Leader.

READ MORE: Minnesota Weather: Huge Hail Chunks Batter Southeastern Communities; Brush Fire Risk Intensifies Friday

“I am honored to have the support of my colleagues to serve as Speaker of the House and start our work to build a Minnesota that works better for everyone,” Hotman said. “We’re excited to work with Governor-elect Walz and Lieutenant Governor-elect Flanagan to make progress on our shared vision for One Minnesota.”

READ MORE: Mpls. City Council President Lisa Bender On Costly Police Misconduct Settlements: 'This Is A Whole System Problem'

Rep. Liz Olson was elected Majority Whip.

MORE NEWS: What Are The Hidden Dangers Of Swimming In Open Water?

Hortman was House Minority Leader for the past two years, and was first elected to the state House in 2004.