By WCCO-TV Staff

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — We’re still waiting to find out who won the billion-dollar Mega Millions jackpot in Michigan. But we may never know who won the $730 million Powerball in Maryland.

Michigan requires that winners come forward, while Maryland is one of less than a dozen states that lets winners remain anonymous.

READ MORE: Sheriff: Inmate Jesse James Crabtree 'Walked Away' From NERCC

Minnesota currently requires winners come forward, but a bill was introduced Tuesday in the state legislature to change that.

READ MORE: Minnesota Weather: 80 Expected For Monday; Summery And Damp Week Ahead

“Others might say well we need to publicize this so we can have more lottery sales. Well I think that the anonymous, and the health and the safety of the winners are way more important than sales,” Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer (R-Big Lake) said.

States that allow mega jackpot winners to remain anonymous include Delaware, Georgia, Kansas, Maryland, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, South Carolina, and Texas.

MORE NEWS: Girl In 'Very Critical Condition' After Being Shot At Minneapolis Birthday Party

Arizona lets people keep it a secret for 90 days.