MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — Tuesday marks an unprecedented moment in Minnesota history.

The governor’s office announced that the Minnesota Tax Court unanimously voted Wendy S. Tien to become chief judge — which means women now hold all chief judge positions in the state’s appellate and executive branch courts.

Tien joins these four other women:

  • Minnesota Supreme Court Chief Justice Lorie Gildea
  • Minnesota Court of Appeals Chief Judge Susan Segal
  • Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings Chief Judge Jenny Starr
  • Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals Chief Judge Patricia Milun

Gov. Tim Walz said Tuesday he’s “proud to celebrate a more representative democracy.” Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan said “representation matters on the bench.”

“A more diverse judicial branch equates to a more representative government for our communities,” Flanagan said.

Tien was appointed to the tax court by Walz in late 2019. Starr and Segal were also appointed by his administration.