MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — The University of Minnesota has named four finalists to become the next dean of the university’s Humphrey School of Public Affairs.

The prestigious school is the third-oldest public affairs program in the country. University Provost Thomas Sullivan says each candidate will visit the campus later this month and early April for meetings.

The four finalists are:

— Rosemary J. Avery, chair of the department of policy analysis and management at Cornell University.
— Greg H. Lindsey, interim dean of the Humphrey School of Public Affairs.
— Edward C. Luck, assistant secretary-general to the Secretary-General of the United Nations.
— Eric P. Schwartz, assistant secretary of state for population, refugees and migration at U.S. Department of State.

The new dean is expected to start by fall semester 2011.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE