Hobey Finalists: Atkinson, Frattin, Miele

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — Cam Atkinson of Boston College, Matt Frattin from North Dakota and Miami of Ohio’s Andy Miele are the finalists for this year’s Hobey Baker award given to college hockey’s best player.

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Foundation made the announcement Wednesday, whittling the original list of 10 candidates. The winner will be announced in St. Paul, Minn., at the NCAA Frozen Four on April 8.

Atkinson, a junior, had 31 goals and 21 assists for the Hockey East champion Eagles. He has signed with the Columbus Blue Jackets.

Frattin, a senior, has led the Fighting Sioux to the Frozen Four. The WCHA Player of the Year leads the nation with 36 goals and has 24 assists.

Miele, a senior, had 24 goals and 47 assists for a nation-leading 71 points.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

  • Fighting Sioux

    Whose team is still playing for a championship? Frattein of the FIGHTING SIOUX easily wins the award.

  • Chum

    Go Sioux….Gophers suckin on the UND tail pipe yet again.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Thursday Night Football

Listen Live