ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — Gov. Mark Dayton has asked President Obama to grant a major federal disaster declaration for 20 Minnesota counties affected by spring flooding.

Dayton sent the request to Obama Wednesday. Preliminary damage estimates in those counties showed $10.9 million in flood costs and damages.

Damage assessments are continuing in 15 other counties that could still be added to the declaration.

If the president declares a major disaster, FEMA will fund 75 percent of costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities.

The 20 counties initially included in Dayton’s request are: Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Clay, Grant, Lac qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lyon, McLeod, Nicollet, Redwood, Renville, Scott, Sibley, Stevens, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE