Election Results: School Levy and Mayoral Winners

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — Some schools are waking up with a smile Wednesday morning, while others are waking up to some tough decisions.

Overall, most of the 113 districts on Tuesday’s ballot got some good news.

Most operating levy renewals were passed by voters, meaning schools will have their normal budgets. But most schools who asked for additional money were shot down by voters.

It was a partial win for the state’s largest school district, Anoka-Hennepin. They were successful on two out of three levy issues. Voters approved a $48 million renewal and narrowly passed a second proposal that raises $30 million over 10 years for technology.

A third measure, which would give additional per-pupil money, was rejected. About 68 percent said no and 32 percent voted yes.

The Delano Public Schools, which sought to more than double a levy that will expire in the spring of 2013, fell short. The district may go back to voters next year, but it must also plan for about $800,000 in possible cuts, said Superintendent John Sweet.

For results in your district, click here.

Winners for the mayoral races include: Janet Williams in Savage; Brad Tabke in Shakopee, Jeffrey W. Jacobs in St. Louis Park, and Gene Winstead in Bloomington. In St. Anthony, voters chose Jerry Faust and St. Peter voters elected Timothy Strand.

Eugene Maxwell won in Hopkins and Shep Harris unseated the incumbent in Golden Valley. Lino Lakes voted in Jeff Reinert and voters elected Judson Marshall in Mahtomedi.

Full results can be found by clicking here.


More From WCCO | CBS Minnesota

Goin' To The Lake
The Leaderboard
Best Pride Events

Listen Live