2014 In Review // Local: News, Sports Nat'l: News, Sports, Entertainment, Talkers | Top 20 Most Read Stories 


Jack Morris Misses Hall Of Fame Cut Again

View Comments
Pitcher Jack Morris During 1991 World Series

Minnesota Twins
Upcoming Games

Buy Twins Tickets Full Schedule
Monday Apr 13
vs. Royals
Wednesday Apr 15
vs. Royals
Thursday Apr 16
vs. Royals
Twins Central
Shop for Twins Gear
Buy Twins Tickets

MLB Scoreboard
MLB Standings
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up
Today's Most Popular Video
  1. HSSR: Andover Goalie Plays With The Boys
  2. HSSR Highlights: Dec. 26, 2014
  3. Comedian Lizz Winstead Is Home For The Holidays
  4. HSSR: Apple Valley's Tyus Jones Excels At Duke
  5. Toddler With Down Syndrome Models For Target

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – The thirteenth time was not the charm for former Twins pitcher Jack Morris, as the MVP hero of the team’s 1991 World Series championship once again missed the cut for the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Morris received 67 percent in the 2012 voting. The selections are made by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. To make the cut, a player must be listed on at least 75 percent of the ballots.

With 382 votes, Morris was second overall in the roster of vote-getters. Barry Larkin came in first with 495 votes. Jeff Bagwell was third with 321 votes and 56 percent of the overall vote.

Morris is not likely to have too many chances to get inducted into the Hall of Fame. The BBWAA reports that “players may remain on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive five percent of the vote in any year.”

This year marked Morris’s 13th year on the ballot. Next year’s ballot figures to be the quite crowded — Roger Clemens, Sammy Sosa, Barry Bonds and Curt Schilling will all be eligible for the first time.

Larkin was the only player elected to baseball’s Hall of Fame by the association’s vote, with 86 percent of the vote on his third try. Ron Santo was elected in December by the Veterans Committee.

Larkin and Santo will be inducted on July 22 at Cooperstown.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,567 other followers