ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — The spring green-up is allowing authorities to lift burning restrictions in 13 Twin Cities metro and central Minnesota counties.

Restrictions come off at 8 a.m. Friday in Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Dakota, Douglas, Hennepin, Isanti, Pope, Ramsey, Stearns, Sherburne, Washington and Wright counties.

Although the state restrictions are expiring in those counties, the Department of Natural Resources says local restrictions may still apply, so people should check with local authorities and obtain proper permits before any open burning.

Restrictions remain in place in many other central and northern Minnesota counties until the wildfire threat eases.

DNR officials advise people to keep their burn piles small, have water nearby and stay with the fire until it’s completely out. If the fire escapes, the homeowner is responsible for the damage and suppression costs.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE