Safe Haven Law Expanded To Protect Newborns
CBS Minnesota (con't)
Affordable Care Act Updates: CBSMinnesota.com/ACA
Health News & Information: CBSMinnesota.com/Health
MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – A law to protect newborn babies in Minnesota has been expanded.
The Safe Haven Law now allows troubled mothers to drop off their infants — up to 7 days old — at any hospital or standalone urgent care facility.
Mothers can even call 911 and have an ambulance pick up the child.
No questions will be asked, and the mother will not face charges.
Previously, mothers had only 3 days to drop off newborns without facing penalties.