MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources said Thursday because of high winds and melting snow, burn restrictions will go into effect on Monday in several counties across central Minnesota.

Burn restrictions will take place initially in 15 counties, including Anoka, Hennepin, Ramsey, Dakota, Washington and Wright in the Twin Cities metro. The restrictions means the DNR will not issue burn permits for brush or yard waste.

The restrictions will limit open burning until the summer green-up happens. DNR officials said most wildfires happen in April and May, and 95 percent of those start because of human error. Several other counties across Minnesota will have burn restrictions go into effect on April 21.

Campfires are still legal, but you’re urged to keep an eye on it and not leave it until the fire is out and cold to the touch.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE