The Minnesota Department of Public Safety has postponed for two months the elimination of bulk sales of driver’s license and vehicle records, an official with the agency said Thursday.
According to the Federal Highway Administration, the average Minnesota driver pays $125 per year to register his or her car. But some of us pay much more, and some of us pay much less. So, when Joel Tracy of St. Paul found out his daughter paid almost $400 her new minivan’s tags, he was surprised. He had only paid $41 for his 2002 Tahoe. “I thought she stuttered,” Tracy said. According to Bruce Gordon, the director of communications for the Department of Public Safety, the car tabs fees are set by the state legislature.
Spring snow fall has triggered partial activation of the State Emergency Operations Center (SEOC).
Six people who claim they were given drugs as part of a now-suspended training program for police are suing the state of Minnesota, alleging the program was an “unethical clinical trial.”
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety is looking into allegations that a Hutchinson Police officer gave marijuana to protestors as part of a police program.
When vehicle owners renew their Minnesota titles or license plates, all that information is kept in a central computer. It’s known as the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) database.
With all the talk of changing Minnesota law to require people to show an ID before they vote, some are proposing using an ID swiping system to verify that the voter is a legal one.