MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Duluth East senior forward Jake Randolph is the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year for high school boys hockey.

Randolph helped lead the Greyhounds to the state tournament, where they were beaten in the quarterfinals by Lakeville South but rebounded to win the consolation championship. Randolph finished the season with 36 goals and 40 assists in 31 games while Duluth East went 29-2. He’s signed with Nebraska-Omaha and will play for a junior level team next.

The award was announced Tuesday.

Randolph was joined on the AP’s all-state team by forwards Justin Kloos of Lakeville South and Grant Besse of Benilde-St. Margaret’s; defensemen Eric Schurhamer of St. Thomas Academy and Jordan Gross of Maple Grove; and Moorhead goalie Michael Bitzer. Besse and Gross are juniors; the rest are seniors.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Watch & Listen LIVE