MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — They are the future television reporters and video storytellers, and dozens of Minnesota high school and college students received the equivalent of an Emmy award this weekend.

The Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences handed out the Student Television Awards for Excellence at a packed ceremony at Theatres at Mall of America Sunday.

Apple Valley High School student broadcasters received the most awards, earning five crystal pillars. The student newscast Eagleye won for best newscast, and a student story called “Comeback Syd” won for general assignment news story.

Lakeville South High School, Eastview High School and Bemidji High School each took home two awards.
The entire list including links to the winning entries is online.

For the college division of the awards, St. Cloud State University led the group with three wins, including best newscast for their college program, UTVS. Bethany Lutheran College in Mankato also had three winners, including live sports event broadcast and public affairs/community service.

The college award winners also have their entries online.

According to NATAS-Upper Midwest Executive Director John Murray, the chapter received more than 100 entries from 20 different high schools and colleges/universities from across the upper Midwest.

FOX Sports North anchor Anthony LaPanta hosted the awards. Entries are judged by broadcast professionals, and are judged against a standard of excellence.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Watch & Listen LIVE