ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — Lakeville artist Stephen Hamrick has won the 2015 Minnesota pheasant stamp contest.

The state Department of Natural Resources says Hamrick’s painting was chosen as the winning design from among 16 entries.

READ MORE: COVID In Minnesota: ICU Hospitalizations Now At 64; Positivity Rate Up To 3.1%

Nicholas Markell of Hugo took second place while Dean Kegler of Duluth placed third.

READ MORE: Burnsville Police Seek Public's Help Locating Missing Man

Hamrick is a multiple winner of Minnesota stamp contests. He also won the pheasant stamp contest in 2003 as well as the 2014 turkey stamp contest and the 2012 duck stamp contest. Hamrick also is a four-time winner of the trout and salmon stamp contest.

The pheasant stamp costs $7.50 and is required for all Minnesota pheasant hunters age 18 through 64. The DNR offers no prizes for the stamp contest winner, but the winning artist retains the right to reproduce the work.

MORE NEWS: Man Taken Into Custody After Shooting, Standoff With Duluth Police

(© Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)