MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – Police across Minnesota are stepping up enforcement this week against distracted drivers.

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety said most accidents are caused by drivers using cellphones, GPS navigation, music controls or eating and drinking.

While it’s legal for most drivers to talk on the phone while driving, it’s against the law to use the Internet or send texts or tweets, even if stopped at a light or stop sign.

The state estimates there were 3,200 texting-while-driving citations issued last year.

Fines can range from $125 to $145 depending on the county.

Comments