NEW YORK (AP/WCCO) — General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a plant in Lodi, California, saying the cereal is labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.
The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July. The Minneapolis company says wheat flour was inadvertently used in a system that normally processes gluten-free oat flour.READ MORE: Vaccine Clinic To Be Held Outside U.S. Bank Stadium Ahead Of Rolling Stones Concert
The use of wheat flour means the cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac disease who consume it might suffer an allergic reaction or discomfort.
General Mills Inc. said Monday it will take the cereals out of warehouses and off store shelves, and says customers who cannot eat wheat should contact the company for a replacement box or a full refund.
The company says the boxes affected contain the following “Best If Used By” dates on the boxes, with the Lodi plant’s code “LD”:READ MORE: Fourth Stimulus Check: Will You See Another Relief Payment?
Honey Nut Cheerios: 12JUL2016LD, 13JUL2016LD, 14JUL2016LD, 15JUL2016LD, 16JUL2016LD, 17JUL2016LD, 18JUL2016LD, 20JUL2016LD, 21JUL2016LD, 22JUL2016LD, 23JUL2016LD, 24JUL2016LD, 25JUL2016LD
Yellow Box Cheerios: 14JUL2016LD, 15JUL2016LD, 16JUL2016LD, 17JUL2016LD
General Mills says anyone requesting refundsm or calling with further questionsn should contact Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.MORE NEWS: Ask Minneapolis Mayoral Candidates Your Burning Question
(TM and © Copyright 2015 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2015 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved.This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)