MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Minnesota has added eight preferred walk-ons to the program, including three players from the state.

Minnetonka linebacker Ty Barron, Mounds View tight end Max Janes and Chaska linebacker Micah Roane committed Wednesday to the Gophers for the 2018 season. Barron and Roane were Associated Press first team all-state selections.

Two walk-ons came from Wisconsin: defensive lineman Jack Kern (Eau Claire Memorial) and tight end Jack McNeil (Madison Edgewood). Another came from South Dakota: kicker Brock Walker (Sioux Falls Washington).

The Gophers used the new early signing period to put 26 new players on scholarship Dec. 20 and complete the 2018 class. Other teams around the country added recruits Wednesday on what has historically been national signing day, but most prospects had already signed in the first window.

(© Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.