Listen to Pat Kessler’s new podcast!

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — Sen. Tina Smith has enough votes to be declared the winner of the Democratic primary for Minnesota’s U.S. Senate seat up for special election later this year.

Smith defeated Richard Painter, Ali Ali, Nick Leonard, Gregg Iverson and Christopher Seymore.

READ MORE: MPCA Looking Into Potential Contamination Of Water Wells In 2 Twin Cities Communities

WEB EXTRA: WCCO Election Guide 2018

Smith will face GOP candidate Karin Housley, who won her party’s special election primary.

READ MORE: Don Shelby Recovering After Stroke Waylaid His Stage Performance As Sinclair Lewis

Smith has served in this Senate seat since it was vacated by Al Franken, who resigned amid a number of sexual misconduct allegations last year. Prior to that, Smith was Gov. Mark Dayton’s lieutenant governor.

The Secretary of State’s office said as of last week, early voting was up nearly 200 percent from the 2016 general election.

MORE NEWS: 'Hundreds ... Literally Begging Me To Run Again': WCCO Goes 1-On-1 With Ousted GOP Chair Jennifer Carnahan

Click here for the full election results.